2.5.6. Disconnecting by exiting

By default, exiting the debugger with a connection causes details of the connection to be stored in the current workspace. See the chapter that describes configuring workspaces in RealView Debugger v1.8 User Guide for more details.

When you exit, the debugger prompts you to ensure you want to disconnect, as described in Disconnection confirmation.

When RealView Debugger starts up with a workspace that includes stored connection information, it tries to reconnect. If this fails, you are prompted for the next action, as described in Reconnecting stored connections.

Disconnection confirmation

If you exit the debugger with active connections, the debugger asks whether these connections can be disconnected, shown in Figure 2.6.

Figure 2.6. Disconnect confirmation

Disconnect confirmation

If you do not disconnect, the Target Vehicle Server (TVS) maintains the connection until another debugger session requires it. Therefore, if you load and run an image on your target, stop it, exit from the debugger without disconnecting, and then rerun the debugger, it is stopped in the same place when the debugger redisplays the connection.

If you disconnect when exiting the debugger, TVS disconnects that connection, using the disconnection mode defined in the Advanced_Information setting Disconnect_mode in the connection properties for that connection. If this leaves the TVS with no connections, it exits as well.

Reconnecting stored connections

If, when you restart the debugger, the connection stored in the workspace is no longer available, you are prompted to retry or reconfigure it, shown in Figure 2.7. Select Configure Device Information... from the list and click OK to reconfigure the connection (see Chapter 5 Configuring Custom Connections for more details). Click Cancel to abort the connection attempt.

Figure 2.7. Disconnect reconfiguration or retry

Disconnect reconfiguration or retry
Copyright © 2002-2005 ARM Limited. All rights reserved.ARM DUI 0182G
Non-Confidential