12.9.7. Removing a setting from a build target configuration

When you assign a setting to a build target configuration, and an instance of the setting also exists in the base settings, the assigned setting value overrides the base settings value. If you now want the base settings value to be used for the configuration, you can remove the assigned setting.

For example, if you have completed the procedure described in Assigning a specific setting to a build target configuration, you might now want to remove the Speed_vs_space setting.

To remove a setting from a build target configuration:

  1. Select Project → Project Properties... to display the Project Properties window.

  2. Select the group containing the setting to be removed. For example:

    1. Select the *COMPILE=arm group in the List of Entries pane.

    2. Right-click on the *Optimization group in the Settings Values pane, and select Explore from the context menu.

  3. Right-click on the Speed_vs_space setting in the Debug build target configuration to display the context menu.

  4. Select an option to reset the setting:

    • Select Move/Copy to Configuration... if you have not modified this instance of the setting from the default value. This enables you to move the setting into the base settings (see Moving a setting into the base settings).

    • Select either Reset to Default or Reset to Empty if you have modified this instance of the setting from the default value. Only one of these options is available.

      The result of selecting a Reset to ... option depends on other settings in this group:

      • If there are other instances of the chosen setting in this settings group, this instance of the setting is deleted from the build target configuration.

      • If this is the only instance of the chosen setting in this settings group, the value of the setting is changed according to the menu option selected. This instance of the setting remains in the build target configuration. That is, there is no instance in the base settings. Therefore, you might want to move the setting back into the base settings (see Moving a setting into the base settings).

  5. Select File → Save and Close to regenerate the makefile(s) for the project, and close the Project Properties window.

  6. Select Tools → Build... to rebuild the application.

Moving a setting into the base settings

If there is no instance of a setting in the base settings for a settings group, and you want that setting to apply to more than one build target configuration, then you must move the setting into the base settings. For example you might want to move a setting from the DebugRel configuration so that it applies to all build target configurations in this settings group.

To move a setting from a build target configuration to the base settings:

  1. Select Project → Project Properties... to display the Project Properties window.

  2. Select the group containing the setting to be moved. For example:

    1. Select the *COMIPILE=arm group in the List of Entries pane.

    2. Right-click on the *Optimization group in the Settings Values pane, and select Explore from the context menu.

  3. Right-click on the setting in the required build target configuration. For example:

    1. Right-click on the *Debug_optimize partial setting in the DebugRel configuration.

    2. Select Move/Copy to Configuration... from the context menu.

  4. Select Move to <Base> from the selection box, and click OK.

  5. Select File → Save and Close to regenerate the makefile(s) for the project, and close the Project Properties window.

  6. Select Tools → Build... to rebuild the application.

Copyright © 2003, 2004 ARM Limited. All rights reserved.ARM DUI 0234B
Non-Confidential