12.4.5. Closing a user-defined project

As you change a user-defined project, add new files, or update dependencies, the project properties are updated and saved automatically. It is not necessary to close your project to update the associated project settings file.

Select Project → Close Project... from the default Code window main menu to close an open project. If the associated Project Properties window is displayed, this closes automatically when the project closes.

If you have more than one project open, RealView Debugger displays a selection box where you can specify which project to close, for example dhrystone. If you have two projects open, the second project, for example interworking, becomes the active project when the first project closes.

When you close a project, the default Code window title bar is updated to show the new active project, where applicable. The current working directory remains as defined by the last file access. You can change this by resetting it or when you open another project from a different location.

Project binding

When you close a bound project, it unbinds automatically. If you had two projects open, the second project, for example interworking, does not bind by default because this only happens when a project opens to the connection. You can, however, rebind the project if required.

Note

If you are connected when you close the project, any close commands you have specified are executed. If you are not connected when the project closes, these commands are not run. See Command_Open_Close group for more details.

See Project binding for more details on binding operations and how to rebind a project.

Working with images

If you close a user-defined project and the image is not loaded, RealView Debugger removes all image details. This clears the hyperlink in the File Editor pane.

If you close a user-defined project where the image is loaded, RealView Debugger prompts you to unload the image. Click Yes to unload the image and remove all image details.

If you do not unload the image, RealView Debugger searches for a saved auto-project to provide project properties for the image. If no file exists for the image, RealView Debugger creates an in-memory auto-project to use in this session. This binds to the connection by default.

Copyright © 2003, 2004 ARM Limited. All rights reserved.ARM DUI 0234B
Non-Confidential