12.5.8. Merging auto-project settings into a project

If you have an image and you have modified, and saved, an auto-project file associated with that image, then you can merge those settings with the settings for a new project.

Note

Merging only gives you the option to incorporate the SETTINGS group from your auto-project. If you change settings in any other group, for example the Command_Open_Close commands in the PROJECT group, these are lost when the auto-project merges.

To merge an auto-project you must have:

By definition, an auto-project is a no-build project and, therefore, uses no build model. You can merge an auto-project into the following types of project:

Standard

Create a new Standard project to merge the settings and use a build model.

Custom

Create a new Custom project to merge the settings and use your own makefile or build tools. This project uses no build model.

See Using a build model for more details on build models.

This section describes:

Merging options

If you have made changes to load-related values in the SETTINGS group of your auto-project, you can choose whether to merge these settings into the properties of the new project. During the creation process, a list selection box is displayed that enables you to specify the merge, shown in Figure 12.4.

Figure 12.4. Merging options selection box

Merging options selection box

The merging options are:

Merge in settings and delete Auto-project file

Merges the SETTINGS group from the auto-project into the new project and then deletes the auto-project.

Merge in settings

Merges the SETTINGS group from the auto-project into the new project but keeps the auto-project.

Delete Auto-project file

Deletes the auto-project without merging the SETTINGS group.

Leave Auto-project alone

Keeps the auto-project without merging the SETTINGS group.

Note

Choose this if you have not saved any settings for your auto-project. This is the same as clicking Cancel.

Common steps for merging auto-project settings

Create the user-defined project you require:

  1. Follow the first three steps in Common steps for creating a user-defined project with these entries:

    1. Enter the name of your project in the Project Name data field.

    2. Enter the directory containing your auto-project file in the Project Base data field, for example \test_examples.

    3. Select the type of project to create, either:

      • Standard

      • Custom.

  2. RealView Debugger displays a dialog box to create the type of project you selected.

    Follow the steps described in the appropriate section to complete the entries:

  3. Make any changes to the project properties to customize the new project. See Customizing and building your project.

Steps for merging settings into a Standard project

To merge your auto-project settings:

  1. Complete the entries in the Create Standard Project dialog box as described in the first step in Steps for creating a Standard or Library project.

    You must specify the full pathname of the image associated with the auto-project in the Executable data field, for example \test_examples\test_image.axf.

  2. Click OK to display the Project Properties window.

  3. If RealView Debugger locates the auto-project for the specified image, it displays a list selection box where you can choose the merging option (see Merging options for details):

    1. Select the required option from the list.

    2. Click OK to update the new project settings file as requested. If selected, the auto-project file is also deleted.

  4. Make any changes to the project properties to customize the new project. See Customizing and building your project.

Steps for merging settings into a Custom project

To merge your auto-project settings:

  1. Complete the entries in the Create Custom Project dialog box as described in the first step in Steps for creating a Custom project.

    You must specify the full pathname of the image associated with the auto-project in the Executable data field, for example \test_examples\test_image.axf.

  2. Click OK.

  3. If RealView Debugger locates the auto-project for the specified image, it displays a list selection box where you can choose the merging option (see Merging options for details):

    1. Select the required option from the list.

    2. Click OK to update the new project settings file as requested. If selected, the auto-project file is also deleted.

  4. Make any changes to the project properties to customize the new project. See Customizing and building your project.

Customizing and building your project

When you close the merging options selection box, RealView Debugger:

  1. Creates the .prj file in the specified location.

  2. Opens the project into RealView Debugger.

  3. Binds the project to the connection, if possible.

  4. Updates the default Code window title bar to show the active project.

  5. Displays the Project Properties window for you to customize your Standard project. If you merge into a Custom project, select Project → Project Properties... to display this window.

To complete your new project:

  1. Make any changes you require in the Project Properties window, see Managing project properties for details.

  2. Select File → Save and Close to close the Project Properties window and generate the makefile(s) for the new project, where applicable.

  3. Select Tools → Build... from the default Code window main menu to build the active project.

    Note

    When you build a new image, the image is placed in the directory defined by the active build model for the project, for example \test_examples\Debug. Your original image remains in the project base directory, for example \test_examples.

Copyright © 2003, 2004 ARM Limited. All rights reserved.ARM DUI 0234B
Non-Confidential