12.1.4. Organizing user-defined projects

A user-defined project is a collection of source files, library files, and other input files. You can organize the files in a project in different ways to provide a logical structure to your source.

It is recommended that you decide the best way to organize your user-defined project files before using RealView Debugger project management options. How projects are organized affects the extent to which files can be shared between developers.

When you create a user-defined project, you specify the project name and the project base directory (see Creating a new user-defined project). The source files used in the project do not have to be in the project base directory but can be located elsewhere and are referred to using relative pathnames, where possible.

RealView Debugger generates a warning message when projects are not self-contained so that you can decide to cancel an operation or continue. In general, keeping source files together within the project base directory, and any subdirectories, is the preferred option for single-user projects.

When working with projects and making changes, additional files are created, for example safety backup files.

Project size

There is no limit to the number of files that RealView Debugger can handle in a single project. However, your operating system might impose a limit on the number of files that can be passed to the linker. Keeping all your source files in the project base directory, and using short filenames, can help to maximize the number of files in a project. However, using libraries is the recommended approach for large projects.

There is a limit imposed on the line length in the generated makefile. This is defined by the setting MAXLINELENGTH set to 32768, in the file program_directory\etc\startup.mk. You can make this longer by editing the file.

Deleting user-defined projects

In general, you do not have to delete user-defined project files or the contents of a project base directory. After you have created a user-defined project, you can add and delete files as necessary using the project management options from the default Code window. You can also change your build model and other project components using the Project Properties window.

Deleting user-defined project files is not recommended where projects are not single-user, self-contained projects as this might prevent other developers from accessing your source files, built files, or build model.

Copyright © 2003, 2004 ARM Limited. All rights reserved.ARM DUI 0234B
Non-Confidential