3.2.3. Working with auto-projects

An auto-project is a custom, image control, project that holds project settings where the build model is unknown.

When you load an image directly to a debug target, RealView Debugger checks to see if an auto-project file exists for the image in the same location. Where an auto-project exists, RealView Debugger opens it and then uses it to load the specified image. Where no auto-project exists, RealView Debugger creates an in-memory auto-project to use in this session.

For example, load the image examples_directory\dhrystone\Debug\dhrystone.axf. RealView Debugger looks for the corresponding auto-project file examples_directory\dhrystone\Debug\dhrystone.axf.apr. Where no auto-project exists, RealView Debugger creates an in-memory auto-project, named dhrystone. The Process tab is then updated with the project details, shown in Figure 3.5.

Figure 3.5. Auto-projects in the Process Control pane

RealView Debugger gives you the option to save the in-memory settings to a file to use next time the image is loaded or as the basis of a new user-defined project.

Viewing project settings

You can view settings for the in-memory auto-project like a user-defined project:

  1. Right-click on the Project entry, to display the Project context menu.

    You can also display this menu from the Settings entry.

  2. Select Project Properties... to display the Project Properties window where you can view the project settings. These are derived from the image details or created using defaults by RealView Debugger.

  3. Select File → Close Window to close the Project Properties window without making any changes.

Changing project settings

You can change load settings for an image where you do not have a user-defined project by defining actions in the auto-project and then the saving the file for use next time the image loads. You can specify commands to execute when the project opens and/or closes, or runtime controls that define the image environment.

Note

Changing auto-project settings might not take effect until the next time the image is loaded and executed. Reload an image to implement any new settings.

You can change settings for the in-memory auto-project like a user-defined project:

  1. Right-click on the Project entry, to display the Project context menu.

  2. Select Project Properties... to display the Project Properties window.

  3. Expand the PROJECT group to see the project settings, shown in Figure 3.6.

    Figure 3.6. Changing auto-project settings

    Changing auto-project settings

    Here you can see the Command_Open_Close group and other project settings.

  4. Expand the SETTINGS group to see the image settings.

    Figure 3.6 shows the Image_load group and other image settings, such as breakpoints and runtime controls.

  5. Right-click on the Image_load group and select Explore to see the group contents in the right pane.

  6. Right-click on the Set_pc entry and select never from the options.

  7. Select File → Save and Close to save your changes and close the Project Properties window.

To return the setting to the default:

  1. Display the Project Properties window.

  2. Right-click on the entry to display the context menu.

  3. Select Reset to Default to restore the setting.

  4. Select File → Save and Close to save your changes and close the Project Properties window.

See Appendix B Project Properties Reference for details on the settings shown here.

Saving project settings

Save the auto-project so that the new settings are used when you next load the image. There are two ways to save an auto-project:

  • In the Project Properties window, select File → Save Changes to close the window and save any changes to the file dhrystone.axf.apr.

  • In the Process Control pane, Process tab, right-click on the Project <Auto> entry and select Save from the Project context menu to save the file dhrystone.axf.apr.

You can delete a saved auto-project so that the file is removed from your disk:

  1. Right-click on the Project entry, to display the Project context menu.

  2. Select Delete Auto-Project File to remove the saved file.

Closing auto-projects

To close an auto-project, right-click on the Project <Auto> entry in the Process tab and select Close from the Project context menu. If you close the auto-project associated with a loaded image, this immediately unloads the image and removes all image details from RealView Debugger. If you close an auto-project, RealView Debugger executes any close commands associated with the project.

Note

You can also use the Project menu from the Code window main menu to close auto-projects.

See Chapter 12 Managing Projects for more details on working with auto-projects.

Copyright © 2003, 2004 ARM Limited. All rights reserved.ARM DUI 0234B
Non-Confidential