12.117 --remove, --no_remove

Enables or disables the removal of unused input sections from the image.

Usage

An input section is considered used if it contains an entry point, or if it is referred to from a used section.

By default, unused section elimination is disabled when building dynamically linked libraries (DLLs) or shared objects, Use --remove to re-enable unused section elimination.

Use --no_remove when debugging to retain all input sections in the final image even if they are unused.

Use --remove with the --keep option to retain specific sections in a normal build.

Default

The default is --no_remove.

The default is --no_remove only if you specify one of the following combination of options:

  • --base_platform or --bpabi with --dll.
  • --sysv with --shared.
Non-ConfidentialPDF file icon PDF versionARM DUI0474M
Copyright © 2010-2016 ARM Limited or its affiliates. All rights reserved.